Knowledgebase
Chat Room - Chat Group Management
Posted by Sean S on 18 October 2019 05:10 PM

Group Chat

This guide will describe how to create new chat groups, invite people to your group and how to manage the players within your group. Before we get into how these management tools work let’s first go over the 3 different Permission Classes.



Chat Permission Classes

There are 3 sets permission classes you can have as a member of a Chat Group

  • Owner
  • Officer
  • Participant

These are hierarchical permissions classes so the Owner also has the same permissions as the Officer and Participant class, Officers also have the same permissions as Participants and Participants do not have any permissions outside of their own.

Chat Group Owner

By default, the Owner of a chat group is the person who created it and they have access to the full suite of Chat Group management tools which include:

  • Group Settings
      • Rename the group
      • Set Public/Private
      • Delete the group
  • Group Officer Management
      • Assign/Revoke Officers
      • Transfer Group ownership to an Officer
  • Group Participant Management
    • Invite Participants by Name, User ID or Invite Code
    • Reset the Invite Code
    • Remove Participants from the Group
    • Block Participants from returning to the Group

Chat Group Officers

Officers are able to assist with Participant moderation and management but cannot change any Group Settings nor manage other Officers.  They have access to the following tools:

  • Group Participant Management
    • Invite Participants by name or user_id
    • Reset the Invite Code
    • Remove Participants from the Group
    • Block Participants from returning to the Group

Chat Group Participant

This is the lowest permission class and what all of the group members will be with the exception of the Owner and Officer(s).  Group Participant’s do not have access to group tools but they will be able to:

  • Post messages to the Chat Group
  • Mute other participants of the Chat Group
  • Leave the Chat Group



Group Settings

Create a Chat Group

Anyone can create a Chat group and by doing so the person who creates the Group automatically becomes its Owner.

How to Create a Group on Desktop?

  1. Open Chat
  2. Click the Groups tab
  3. Click the + symbol to the right of the Groups dropdown
  4. Define the Group name and choose if you want your group to be Private or Public (don’t worry you can update both the name and Public/Private at any time in the future)
  5. Click Create Group to commit this

How to Create a Group on Mobile?

  1. Tap on the More Tab
  2. Tap on Chat
  3. Tap on the Groups Icon (the small icon with 3 people in it)
  4. Tap on the Create New Group icon 
  5. Define the Group name and choose if you want your group to be Private or Public (don’t worry you can update both the name and Public/Private at any time in the future)
  6. Tap Create Group to commit this



Rename Group or reset Group Privacy

If you are the group Owner you can change the Group name or toggle the Public/Private setting at any time.

How to update Group Settings on Desktop?

  1. Open Chat and navigate to your Group
  2. Click on Settings under the Groups dropdown
  3. Update the Name and/or Privacy Type
  4. Click “Save Group” to commit these changes

How to update Group Settings on Mobile?

  1. Open Chat and navigate to your Group
  2. Tap on the Edit Icon
  3. Update the Name and/or Privacy Type
  4. Tap “Save Group” to confirm these changes



Delete a Chat Group

If you want to disband your chat group, it is very easy to do! However, if you would rather hand over the reins to another member of your Group please see the section on Transferring Ownership.

How to delete a Group on Desktop?

  1. Open Chat and navigate to your Group
  2. Click on “Manage” under the Groups dropdown
  3. Click on “Delete Group”
  4. Click “Yes” to confirm these changes

How to delete a Group on Mobile?

  1. Open Chat and navigate to your Group
  2. Tap on the Edit Icon (small pencil located in the top right)
  3. Tap on “Delete Group”
  4. Tap “Yes” to confirm these changes



Group Officer Management

Group Officer’s will allow you to delegate some Participant management duties to trusted members of your Chat Group.  You can have up to 3 Officers for your chat group and you can promote and revoke Officers at any time.

Promote a Group Officer

To set a member of your group to be an Officer it is as simple as identifying a Participant from your Members List and granting them Officer status.  

Revoke a Group Officer

A Group Owner can revoke an Officer’s permissions at any time.  To do so find them in your members list, click remove Officer and this will set them back as a Participant of the Chat Group.

Transfer Ownership of your Group to an Officer

If you would like to hand over ownership of your Chat Group to another member of the group you can transfer it to any of your Group Officers.

  1. Select an Officer from your Members list
  2. Click on Transfer Ownership and confirm you want to do this

Once this action is complete the Officer you just selected now becomes the Owner and you, in turn, become an Officer of the group.


Group Participant Management

Invite Participants by Alias, User ID or Invite Code.

For both Public and Private Chat Groups you are able to, directly and indirectly, invite Participants.

To directly invite Participants you can use their Alias or User ID to send them an invite to your group.

How to invite others on Desktop?

  1. Open Chat and navigate to your Group
  2. Click on Members under the Groups dropdown
  3. Enter their Alias or User ID into the Invite Members can click the appropriate Invite button

How to invite others on Mobile?

  1. Open Chat and navigate to your Group
  2. Tap on the Settings icon (the small gear located in the top right)
  3. Tap on "Invite Members" under the dropdown
  4. Enter their Username or User ID then Tap the appropriate Invite button

The recipient of the invite can find it if they open Chat and look for a notification on the bell icon.

To indirectly invite Participants to your Chat Group you can use your invite link which contains a unique code that will connect players to your Chat Group. Once they click on the link, and if the Invite Code is still valid, they will join the Chat Group and can immediately begin participating in the discussion.

Reset the Invite Code

Resetting the invite code will prevent anyone with the old code from joining the chat room. 

Remove Participants from the Group

If a player needs to be removed, the Officers or Owner can remove them. However, only the Owner can remove an Officer.

Block Participants from returning to the Group

If needed, a player can be blocked from the group, this will automatically kick them out of the group and prevent them from rejoining, even if they have the invite code. 

(10 votes)
Helpful
Not helpful

Comments (0)
© , Kano Applications Inc. All rights reserved. Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy